Inspiration. Innovation. Implementation.

Join 200 of the most influential leaders in STEM to recognize accomplishments and connect powerful ideas with meaningful change for the STEM workplace.

Pinnacle Award

Susan Desmond-Hellmann, MD, MPH, is the 2018 recipient of the AWIS Pinnacle Award for lifetime achievement for her contributions as a scientist, physician, philanthropist, and mentor. She is the Chief Executive Officer of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation where she leads the organization’s vision for a world where every person has the opportunity to live a healthy, productive life.

Next Generation Award

Rachel Haurwitz is a co-founder of Caribou Biosciences and has been President and CEO since its inception. She has a research background in CRISPR-Cas biology, and is also a co-founder of Intellia Therapeutics. Rachel is an inventor on several patents and patent applications covering multiple CRISPR-derived technologies, and she has co-authored scientific papers in high impact journals characterizing CRISPR-Cas systems. Rachel earned an A.B. in Biological Sciences from Harvard College, and received a Ph.D. in Molecular and Cell Biology from the University of California, Berkeley. This award draws specific attention to her continued innovation at the helm of Caribou Biosciences, as well as her commitment to diversity and progressive workplace policies.

2018 Advisory Committee Chairs

Bahija Jallal, PhD
Executive Vice President of AstraZeneca and Head of MedImmune

Susan Windham-Bannister, PhD
Managing Director, Biomedical Innovation Advisors, LLC
President and CEO, Biomedical Growth Strategies, LLC

A full list of committee members can be viewed here.


Presenting Sponsors

Patron Sponsors

Supporting Sponsors

Additional Sponsors

Sponsorship Opportunities

Please download the sponsorship package for pricing, sponsorship options, and a full list of additional opportunities to incorporate your brand at the AWIS Summit and Awards Dinner.

If you would like to propose an opportunity not currently listed in our sponsorship package, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly.

Lori Devine
(202) 588-8157 x209

Joseph Mouzon
(415) 902-4239

Past Speakers

Janet Napolitano, JD

President University of California

“There’s a clear and undeniable need for institutions like public research universities to educate future experts, foster opportunities for the creation of new knowledge, and give the space and time necessary for intellectual and innovative risk taking.”

Janet Napolitano, JD
University of California

Pavle Sabic, FRM

Director, Head of Market Development, Corporates Segment, S&P Global Market Intelligence

“It’s not about ego. It’s about speaking up and having the right information to make sure that the gender pay gap is closed.”

Pavle Sabic, FRM
Director, Head of Market Development, Corporates Segment, S&P Global Market Intelligence

Jeffrey Wadsworth

President and CEO Battelle Memorial Institute

“The nation’s ability to deliver this diverse and powerful STEM workforce has to become a priority to remain competitive in the global economy.”

Jeffrey Wadsworth
President and CEO
Battelle Memorial Institute

“Thank you for bringing together so many people from different [employment] sectors, it gave me insight into their perspectives as well.”

Veronica C.

Entrepreneur, Oakland, CA, Attendee at the Chicago Summit

“This Summit provided real-world solutions and ideas that I can easily implement.”

Scott N.

Instructor, University of Florida, Attendee at the Chicago Summit


Should you require lodging near their event, we recommend the following hotels based on their proximity and amenities. Visit the links below to book directly with their best available rate.
Hotel Le Méridien San Francisco
333 Battery Street

Hyatt Regency San Francisco
5 Embarcadero Center

Hilton San Francisco Financial District
750 Kearny Street

The Bently Reserve

301 Battery Street
San Francisco, CA 94111

1667 K Street NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006
(202) 588-8175


© 2017 Association for Women in Science. All Rights Reserved.